Audio Triggered AC Outlet

2/21/19
I am a newbie to Arduino. I want to build an ac outlet that is triggered on with line level audio that is being fed to my sub woofer speaker. I have a few questions....

1. Is this project simple enough for a newbie?

2. Is there a place that can show me what program I need, and what hardware I need, and a video that shows me how to hook all this up?

Thanks for the help, and advice;

Steve

What is wrong with the answers you got here? Audio Triggered Relay - Project Guidance - Arduino Forum

I would say not because it involves mains wiring. If you are asking for a video of how to do it I would say you are not experienced enough to tackle this safely.

This is super simple.
buy a WiFi enabled plug

Create a listening device that can control the WiFi enable plug.

you never touch mains power
you can always touch your low voltage stuff

I've also seen outlets with relays built in, so you can simply connect your 5V signals to control the relays. No need to touch mains voltages.

brianphoenix:
line level audio that is being fed to my sub woofer speaker

This is more interesting. How do you plan to detect this? Microphone in front of that sub woofer?

Line level audio delivered to a speaker doesn't make any sense, unless that audio is supplied to an amplifier that in turn handles the speaker.

I was not real clear in earlier posts of exactly what I am trying to accomplish. Let me explain in full detail.

The End Result: When I turn on my AV receiver I want my sub-woofer to turn on.

How To Accomplish This:

1. I want to send the sub-woofer line level audio out from my AV receiver (line level because the sub-woofer is amplified) to an Arduino device that is triggered by the sub-woofer line level audio, and when triggered the Arduino device I build outputs 6volts dc.