Auto Chicken Door

Hello all.

I am very new to the whole Arduino thing...and very new may be an under statement. I purchased an Arduino Uno and an Arduino motor shield. I also picked up a used window regulator motor out of a car,(Runs on 12 volts.) After I got the motor to spin both ways I tried to add a photocell. The idea is I want the motor to spin one direction half hour after dark, and then the other direction half hour after sunrise. The problem is I can't for the life of me figure out how to do it. I've watched a number of tutorials, read some posts, tried some random ideas, and for whatever reason I can not do it. If someone could set me up with a code for this, and possibly an explanation on how/why it works it would save me from pulling the rest of my hair out. I've also seen people post their codes, but I figured I would save myself the embarrassment and not post what I have...or think I have.

If you’re looking for someone to write the code for you, then you should be making a post in the Gigs and Collabaration section.

Otherwise, What have you tried?

Go ahead and post that code! I'm just a month into Arduino and my first question on the forum was resolved after I posted my code. Posting your code is probably the best thing you can do as others can then help you to figure out what is right, what isn't right, and maybe where you need to go to make it all work. :)

Reading material.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&as_q=coop&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&as_nlo=&as_nhi=&lr=&cr=&as_qdr=all&as_sitesearch=http%3A%2F%2Farduino.cc%2Fforum%2Findex.&as_occt=any&safe=images&tbs=&as_filetype=&as_rights=

For timing stuff, download & take a look at the Time, TimeAlarms and DS1307RTC libraries. Several examples are found in these libraries. http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/time

int photocellPin = A5; // select the input pin for the photocell
int sensorValue = 0; // variable to store the value coming from the photocell
int motorPin = 12;  //

void setup() {