Auto Titration Gizmo advice

Hey arduino-ers!

I am new to the arduino world and I have gone through some tutorials on how to use the arduino. So now I am embarking on a project to make an auto titration device. I am doing this as part of my interest in my A-level Chemistry course.

My idea is to clamp a servo onto a burette valve, which is connected to an arduino. I will have a pH probe in the conical flask to measure the pH value which I have read, inputs a reading into the arduino which corresponds to the pH of the solution.
I will in turn write a code that causes the hand of the servo to correspond to the input voltage. For example, at pH 7 the servo will be at "0" and at pH 12, the servo will be at "180".
So as the titration goes along, the servo will automatically correct the valve of the burette limiting the amount of acid that gets poured in until it reaches the end point.

I have some questions which I hope you will be able to help me with:

1. I am going to order a pH sensor on ebay, which comes with a BNC connector. I am perplexed at this BNC thing. I was wondering why bother using a BNC connector when I can just use the individual wires in the coil to connect them to the inputs on an arduino?
    Is there any advantage of using a BNC connector and how should I harness it?

2. Any other input or ideas of how I need to improve this further?

Thank you so much! :slight_smile:

You need to compare how fast the pH sensor reports a change in pH versus how fast you can add material to adjust pH. If the sensor is faster than the material addition mechanism, great. If not, you need to slow down how fast material is added.

How will the new material be stirred in?

How will you control the desired pH level? Will that be hardcoded?

limjix: