Automate Temperature of Gas Water Heater

I am new to the arduino world and I am looking for a way to automate the temperature in my gas water heater. I want to use an arduino to turn the knob on my water heater from high to low during times I do not think anyone will use the shower. Then have it turn it up during hours where I believe the water will need to be hot.

Any suggestions? I read a servo might work but I am not sure how I would attach it to the arduino and then attach something to it to turn a knob. I am not sure what kind of arduino I would need, how to hook it up and program it.

My water heater knob looks like this - http://www.danoah.com/wp-content/uploads/water-heater-temperature-knob-585x390.jpg

Any help is appreciated.

Given the legend on that knob, and your level of understanding, do you really want to risk it?

Are you talking about the risk in getting burned with the heater setting? I don't really see much risk in the knob. It goes from Warm to Very Hot. I already have my water heater set to level B now as it is. There is only one level above that. I just want the arduino to move the knob from warm to Level B and back when needed.

I don’t think the result would be good.

Try getting some understanding on stepper motors if you want to accomplish this your way, or get a proper variable thermostat for it to make it safe.

What AWOL was referring here is that in case this system fails, someone might get burned. Or in case it fails, this might create a condition that will make the water boiler fail and cause severe damage to your house. Have you got a spare boiler on which you can test this extensively and create fail safes in your code and hardware?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying it’s not possible or that you can’t do it, I just don’t like it when people assume it is safe to do something just because it is possible to do so.