Automated Chicken Feeder - Noob needs help

Hello All, I'm currently working on a school design project that releases chicken feed at 7 in the morning and 7 at night. It is basically a motor geared to a butterfly valve that opens/closes etc.

I'm new to arduino and electronics aren't exactly my thing. But I'm grateful for any help you can provide, circuit lay outs, coding ideas etc. the more simple the better

• I don't wish to control the speed of the motor i just want to turn it on for say 2 seconds, delay 2 seconds, and reverse it for 2 seconds, closing the valve once every morning. The Arduino has to run off a 9v battery and the motor is this one http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=YG2734

I have researched other similar projects, like the arduino dog feeder but that uses a servo, and http://www.instructables.com/id/Simple-2-way-motor-control-for-the-arduino/#step3 Looks promising could i just intergrate this into a timed code etc?

Thankyou so much for any help

Welcome to the forums. At 12v, under no load, that motor would make 1.2 revolutions in 2 seconds. Rather than controlling the length of time to the open or closed positions, I think a better approach would be to sense the open and closed positions and operate the motor until the desired position is reached. What power supply is used for powering the motor? - Scotty

More suitable would be http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=YG2730. I would use limit switches instead of time to control its position. Just run it until it hits the limit switch, wait for 2 seconds and then reverse it until it hits the other limit switch. You might find problems closing the shutter against the flow of feed. Some feed may get trapped and stop the shutter from fully closing.

"Rather than controlling the length of time to the open or closed positions, I think a better approach would be to sense the open and closed positions and operate the motor until the desired position is reached."