Automated Lawn mower

Hi guys!! Can i have some knowledge about obstacle avoidance? Im currently doing my project entitled automated lawn mower and i need some algorithm that will mow the lawn entirely. It will stop as long as it completed cutting the tall grasses. Need some help guys :D thanks in advance

How do you plan to control the path of the mower? Or stop it going outside the lawn area?

Weedpharma

The lawn mower is automated so it has no remote control. The only controls is that it will continue to move and cut grass as long as it detects tall grasses. Though the lawn area is predefined!! I used an ultrasonic sensors to detects obstacles. I need help for an algorithm that it will cover and cut grass the whole lawn area. I already have the algorithm that in every detection of obstacles it will turn right, but still in will not cover the whole lawn area for it will only form a box and it will only go on the same spot. Tsss need help guys

Is the shape of the lawn random, or will it always be the same outline? The simplest algorithm is a spiral which will cut most of the grass. That will just leave corners if the lawn is rectangular.

Paul

I can just see it now during the debug process .... "howdy neighbor - sorry about that flower bed of yours". As far as the turn goes, don't use 90 degrees and you will avoid the box issue - use something like maybe 120 degrees so that it detects an obstacle and goes away at a different direction. I think you need a good fence though to avoid having unhappy neighbors if (when) that thing gets away. :o

Paul_KD7HB: Is the shape of the lawn random, or will it always be the same outline? The simplest algorithm is a spiral which will cut most of the grass. That will just leave corners if the lawn is rectangular.

Paul

The shape of the lawn will depend on the size of the lawn mower and it would be rectangle in shape probably!!!