Automated Welding Set Up

Hello All,

I am extremely new to the Arduino scene but I've been involved in a fabrication capacity with robotics and automation for some time. I have a project that I've been working on for a few months that i would like to automate to a certain degree. Below is a little information about the project.

Small Automated Welding Machine

The basic function of the machine will be to multiple settings (presumably set by a 12 position switch) that will control a large motor rotating on its Z axis that will turn a tabletop, a small DC motor (motor 2) rotating on its X axis that will turn a cam at a constant speed to oscillate a welding gun.

So I would think i would need the following parts: *DC Motor controller that could be controlled by Arduino for Motor 1 (speed and start/stop) *DC Motor controller that could be controlled by Arduino for Motor 2 (Speed and start/stop) *12 position switch that would select a certain setting (motor 1 speed) *A rotary encoder or some sort of sensor that will tell me how far my Table top has turned *A relay that will start the arc/gas flow on my welding machine (just a relay that i will cut inline on the trigger) *Start Button

I've written an outline of the sequence below

-Select setting on 12 position switch -Activate Start by depressing start button -The following would happen at the same time: Motor one start at pre-determined speed (Based on 12 position switch) and rotate for 360 degrees Motor two start and rotate at a constant speed until motor 1 reaches 360 degrees Relay for welding machine closes starting arc and stays closed until motor 1 reaches 360 degrees