Automatic irigation system as first project

Hello everyone,

I'm studying CompSci but electronics and microcontrollers are completely new to me.
I want to make a project to automatically water a plant if a soil moisture sensor detects low levels of moisture.

The components I am thinking of incorporating in this project are as follows:

• Arduino Uno
  • Datalogging shield
  • Capacitive soil moisture sensor
  • light sensor
  • temperature sensor
  • peristaltic pump (12V)

As I understand it I will also need a relay as well as a seperate power supply for the pump.

I would like to power the whole system using some sort of batteries so I can use it outside.

Now, my question is mostly about how to power it if I'd like it to run without recharging any batteries everyday.
I know the Arduino requires 5V although thanks to the regulator it can be a little higher.

I was thinking about perhaps using a combination of AA and 9V batteries. Is the voltage of the battery circuit you hook up to the system the only thing you need to be careful about or is it possible to damage the Arduino if the mah value is too high?

Are there any other/better ways to power everything? Perhaps a USB powerbank?

good to know you already define your component.
the next step you need to

• define your power-needed for component,
    eg: moisture sensor 5v, temperature sensor 3.3v, you name it..

• defining data connection/ interface type,
    eg: datalogger SPI, temperature ADC, moisture I2C, you name it..

UNO have 2 power input

1. usb 5v only
  2. Vin / DC jack : can handle 7-12v

since your project has 12v pump i think would be great to have 12 v power source
here a list that that worked well with uno based on my experience:

1. 4-cell LIPO battery
  2. 12v Motorcycle battery
  3. 4 18650 battery in series

all of those had big capacity and recharge-able
you can share for both uno and pump

" is it possible to damage the Arduino if the mah value is too high?"