Automatic Ping Pong Collector

I am planning to do an Automatic Ping Pong Collecting Machine that is able to navigate on its own as well as pick up ping pong balls. I would like to ask for feasible ideas for navigating within a controlled environment and what kind of sensors should I use for specific object (round objects) detection.

Here are some of my ideas in the design of the machine

1. Follow a specific path using a tape as the path
  2. Randomly moving for a period of time before Return To Home
  3. Scan for object and approaching it. Return To Home after an amount of time

Please provide any suggestions. I am open to any other methods which I am not aware.

P.S. I am a Arduino Beginner.

Cheers

If you are an Arduino beginner and don't have other programming experience this will be a major challenge. In addition to the navigation issues there are many other features - electrical and mechanical as well as programming - that need to work to achieve a finished product.

Start by working through several of the example programs that come with the Arduino IDE.

As far as the navigation is concerned, what sort of space will the robot be working in? A large room with table-tennis tables and few other obstacles?

Ping pong balls are very localized things (compared with mowing a lawn or cleaning a floor). I wonder is it sensible to do anything other than identify them visually which is beyond the capacity of an Arduino. A rotatable camera should find them very quickly with a minimum of movement by the robot.

...R

For picking up the balls a suction pump (small cooling fan and tube) can be used. It's easier to position than a mechanical gripper.

We just used a blower to push them all to a corner.
You could make a dumb bot do sweeps without having to locate and react.

But as a beginner, figuring out motors and coding will take awhile, so unless you have the time and interest to learn what's necessary, abandon all hope for your balls.