Automatic powder trickler

First off, let me say this is a great forum and I have been lurking for a few days (drinking from a water hose). Secondly, please prepare yourself for the most new newb.

So I am a ME by trade, preferring to steer clear of any wires containing "magic smoke" or 0's & 1's....that is up until a few days ago when I was introduced to Arduino. Immediately a project popped into my head, something I have been wanting to do for a long time just never knew of a realistic way for simple me to do it. This is also about the only thing that has ever given me motivation to work on this type of hardware/software.

I did find a thread from 2012 where a guy I have actually spoken to (memilanuk aka Monte), was working on doing the same thing for the very same reasons but I am not sure how far he got. I'll PM him now that I have registered.

Nonetheless, here goes:

I have a A&D Fxi300 scale http://balance.balances.com/scales/751 as well as a powder trickler that runs off of 4 AA batteries. I haven't taken it apart but believe it's just an electric motor/eccentric mass set-up. It works very well.

My pie in the sky end result would be something similar to the following; I use three reset style buttons to set the target weight (10gn, 1gn & .1gn) to say 43.6gn for example. I would bulk feed ~.5gn low, directly onto the pan & scale. The Arduino would have logic that would say ~IF pan weight >/=98.5% of target, run trickle loop/algorithm/PID, whatever until target is met via PWM output to the trickler. The process would then rinse and repeat. Even if this took 20-30sec, allowing me to seat the bullet for the previous round while the Arduino did it's thing would really speed the process up.

Some of my arseumptions: