automatic pressure controller

Hi all, I’m new to coding and learning it slowly as a bit of a bonding thing with my son. I’ve written a sketch which is supposed to control a compressor and exhaust valve for a pressure vessel to maintain it within certain limits. I also need to have a runtime limiter for one of the outputs (COMP) which will turn it off automatically if it runs for more than 5mins. I have simulated the height sensor with a potentiometer in my sketch and used LEDs as surrogate compressors and valves until I have the sketch working as desired. I have everything working as I want except for the time limit bit. I’ve spent about a week on it and still can’t get it. I want to do it in the sketch and not start using external timers or shields, etc. I’ve tried using the millis() function but it won’t work for me. What code I have is below. I’d really appreciate any help.

/*so far -

• pot switches between red, green & yellow
  • Red = exhaust on
  • Green = compressor run
  • Yellow = pot fault/outside set limits
  • serial monitor prints current state, pot value and reset required command.
  • If fault condition occurs, an empty while loop hold the main loop where it is infinitely until the reset button is pressed.
  • During a fault condition, the relay switching the compressor feed goes high which cuts off the compressor.
  • Still need to figure out repeatable 5min run limit timer for compressor.
    */

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);//serial comms are started
int comp=8;//pin 8 is set as the compressor
int exh=9;//pin 9 is set as the exhaust
int fault=10;//pin 10 is set as the fault
pinMode(comp,OUTPUT);
pinMode(exh,OUTPUT);
pinMode(fault,OUTPUT);
//Next section tests the 3LEDs before running the program to make sure they are working
Serial.println((String)“LED test start”);
digitalWrite(comp,HIGH);digitalWrite(exh,HIGH);digitalWrite(fault,HIGH);
delay(5000);