automatic wind turbine [advice]

Hello,

I am a student and i want to create an automatic wind turbine. I am totally beginner and i just know my physics lessons!
I need an advice for my project. I want to turn my wind turbine in front of the wind automatically. To do that i chose 4 steps.

1. I turn the wind turbine from 0° to 360° and with the potentiometer i measure the angle of the position of the wind turbine

2)At the same time, i measure the voltage produce by the wind turbine.

1. I enter those informations in the arduino card

2. The arduino card calculated a fonction between produced voltage and postion of the wind turbine and the output of the arduino card is a motor which turn the wind turbine to the angle where the produced voltage is maximal

I need you to tell me if my project is feasible (for the “arduino part”)

Electronic materials:
-arduino uno
-motor shield rev3
-2dc motors
-potentiometer

Thanks for reading (sorry for my english, i m french)

Quentin

I would go with an optical encoder to measure the angle for a couple of reasons. It will be difficult to find a pot that goes 360 degrees. Most single turn pots cover about 270 degrees and if you use a multi-turn pot you lose resolution. And pots usually have at least some drag to overcome (which may not be a problem with the motor driven pointing). You can get encoders that have a home position output as well as the count, so you turn the generator head to home then turn in increments and do your measurements. Make sure that the maximum output voltage from the generator will not go over the maximum allowable input to the ADC.

Hello Quentin. Welcome.

What is the scale of this project? The size will dictate what power the motors will need to have and that will determine if the shield will be able to handle the power required. Why 2 motors? How will you be able to determine if the output of the turbine is relative to wind direction or wind speed?

• Scotty

Groundfungus: