Automation with Arduino (HMI, Temperature, I/O)

Hello all, I hope I am not asking dumb things I should know. I am an automation engineer with experience with robots, PLCs, all types of sensors, programming languages but everything I ever played with was super expensive industrial grade automation. Now I would like to complete a DIY project with a friend and was wondering if it would be possible with an Arduino.

So is Arduino capable of:

1. Reading temperature with external temperature sensor (0-150°C)
  2. Setting, Reading analog outputs inputs
  3. Possible to use a PC as a HMI (Supported programming languages would be welcome or if something exists that makes ones life simpler)
  4. Can you connect a pressure sensor
  5. Advanced: Can you connect an oxygen probe And where are can I find the best sources for information’s I need.

Thank you…

There are a number of temp (or temp/humidity) sensors available. Part of the answer depends on how far the sensors are from the Arduino - are we talking something within a couple of feet or in another building or ? You can connect a pressure sensor but you need to specify what range - are you talking atmospheric pressure, water pressure or ?? If the sensor has an analog output, it can be read by the Aruduino although, you may need some signal conditioning depending on voltages involved. There are probably oxygen probes out there but I have not seen them (although I was not looking for them either). Couple of places to look for things - check out what Sparkfun and Adafruit have to offer for interesting things and check out the “Sensors” subforum under the Arduino main forum Sensors