Automotive Automation, Control and Communication

Background:
I’ve done some small Arduino projects; I’m fluent in MS Office formulas which seem to be very similar in language to C++; my day job is industrial mechanic for a global food production company; I’ve been turning wrenches and taking things apart since I was 4 and learned to hold a screwdriver.

Hardware:
Due to the shear size of the project I’ll be starting with (1) Mega2560 board and will add on as needed. I’ll be using various OTC Shields to automate many of the 12V Accessories and Functions. All ideas are more than welcome and reasonable suggestions more than valued.

Project Scope:
Total reasonable integration of a Arduino controller or controller network into a 1995 Pontiac Bonneville SSE. Why? It’s a hobby I enjoy. I love my job and I love creating something from nothing. The car is a spare with 50k on the engine, everything works, and it has power everything. And there’s virtually zero aftermarket upgrades for the 95 - older Bonneville. Also, this car is ODB 1.5 not 2 so using Android apps like Torqe with a ODB2 Bluetooth module isn’t an option, plus I have much grander plans.

I’ll list my current ideas in the order they’re currently planned for integration. I welcome all guidance but please reference which project part you’re advising on.

Lights:
Tail Lights: One Off self built 6 lens/6 Halo bullet style demon eye taillights, 3 per side. Bulbs will be dual color Red/Amber 1157 LEDs for brake/turn, Red T10 Running, and Amber halos for each of the 6. Program will sequence from center out when brake is applied, sequential red to amber turn signals with the outer amber Halo chaseing the lens change. Brake off sequential from out to in, hazard will run sequential out to in with chasing halos. I’ll be using 64mm 45° aspheric glass lenses with custom self built shrouds and assemblies.

HeadLights: