Autonomous Intersection Manger

Hi, I am a high school student with a little knowledge in programing, I have also not used any Arduino yet except UNO.
So I have this cool idea for the city science fair this year,

As we all know companies like Tesla and Mercedes are pushing technology to achieve a driverless future. But would we really need traffic lights to control driverless cars? That is what my project answers. So for the sake of simplicity I am planning to have a 2 lane infinty shaped track with 1 intersection in it. On this track I will have 4-6 line following robot cars moving around.
The intresting part is the intersection, as a car approaches the intersection. The car would communicate with a sever (my laptop for this case). The communication includes sending of parameters like time of arrival, and direction desired. And then my laptop would simulate that trajectry on a 2d map of the intersection. If there is no conflict, then the laptop will send a "GO" parameter to the car. If there is a conflict, eg. another car already going through. Then the computer will comand the car to stop and will respond with "GO" whenever conflict is resolved.

The problem is that I dont know what hardware is to be used for this. I have figured out the line following part with arduino uno and ir sensors, but I dont know how to have so many arduino have simultaneous serial connection with 1 PC. I would be really really helpful if someone would help me with this project. Thank you in advance. Cheers!

but I dont know how to have so many arduino have simultaneous serial connection with 1 PC.

The app on the PC will see one Arduino per serial connection, so the Arduinos won't have any problems.

The app, on the PC, on the other hand...

How will the data get from the Arduino to the PC? I can't see having cables running from each car to the PC.

But would we really need traffic lights to control driverless cars?