Autonomous Kart Hardware

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Arduino (and electronic modeling in general) and have, more or less, a trial by fire design project that I would appreciate some hardware input on.

My design group is currently attempting to autonomously drive a motorized cart via GPS and IMU sensors.

Here are the details:

DC brushed motor is being indirectly controlled via two linear actuators connected to the gas and brake pedals (recommendations on compatible/convenient actuator with the Arduino interface?). Would most likely be a 12V linear actuator.

Steering column controlled via a step motor (see recommendation comment above).

GPS Receiver Model: BX982 (http://trl.trimble.com/docushare/dsweb/Get/Document-581007) ← Was donated.

IMU yet to be decided (are there Arduino compatible IMU senors?)

I currently have an Arduino Uno R3 and a small proto board for wiring. I have very little electronic wiring experience and was curious as to how this thing would have to be wired up/what additional Arduino hardware components I would need. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I thank you for any input in advance.

Yuzzum321: DC brushed motor is being indirectly controlled via two linear actuators connected to the gas and brake pedals (recommendations on compatible/convenient actuator with the Arduino interface?). Would most likely be a 12V linear actuator.

I take it this is an electric motor powered cart? If so, then I would interface into whatever the pedals are controlling. Likely, the "gas" pedal is controlling some form of a potentiometer or hall-effect sensor controller, that is then controlling the motor controller. If you can get some specifications, datasheets or whatever on those items as well as the motor controller, that would be the best place to start, rather than a mechanical linkage (unless you have some reason to do so - like you intend the cart to be driven manually as well as autonomously).