Autorun the last upload when powered by 9V

So I'll be the first to admit I'm new at all of this, including coding in C, and perhaps this was answered somewhere else but I'll give it a shot anyway...

I'm looking to have my Ardunio Duemilanove automatically run the last upload I gave it when I power it up to a 9 V battery. I can achieve this if I simply strip my code of all functions and just run a simple loop, but I only want the the upload to run once (reason: I have an altimeter attached and it starts passing back values once it and the arduino are powered on). Is there a simple addition I can make to my code to achieve this?

Anything help, thanks!

-FN

Not sure I completely understand your question but code you place in the setup portion of a sketch will only execute once while the loop portion or the skectch can be a do nothing loop. Will that work for you?

Lefty

Yeah sorry, probably not the greatest explanation. I'll try a little better...

Basically, my code consists of several functions, the primary one(s) consisting of one that reads and processes the altimeter data that is passed in and another one that does something based upon the processed values, in this case, it drives a motor.

So I want to be able to upload to the board via usb, power down, and then when I power it up again with the 9 V, it sits there reading the altimeter data and responds accordingly.

I suppose I could nest things inside the setup portion of the sketch, but I thought maybe there was a simple way to tell the ardunio to automatically begin reading the data that is passed into it from the altimeter and react accordingly.

Hope that makes sense. Thanks again.

-FN

Well I'm sure the Arduino can do what you wish. It sounds like you are struggling with what the program flow and structure should look like.