Average of Number over 24hours

Hey,

I am not very experienced with C++. I want to get the daily average value of a reading coming from an analog sensor. Could any one please post some code that would:

Get and print the average of ‘x’ over 24 hours, where ‘x’ is the value being read from an analog sensor.

I wrote some code for you, it is not tested, but it might help you getting started :slight_smile:

///Config
const byte SAMPLE_PIN = 0;
const int NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR = 10;

//delay = minutes_in_hour*seconds_in_minute*millisecons_in_second / samples_per_hour
const int SAMPLE_DELAY = (60*60*1000) / NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR; 
const int TIMES_AS_FAST = 1; //if set to 4, a day will go by four times as fast if you want a day to be an hour set to 24

int readings[NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR*24];  

int index = 0;
int average = 0;

void setup()
{
      // initialize serial communication with computer:
      Serial.begin(9600);                   
      // initialize all the readings to 0: 
      for (int thisReading = 0; thisReading < NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR; thisReading++) {
            readings[thisReading] = 0;          
      }
}

void loop() { 
      // read from the sensor:  
      readings[index++] = analogRead(SAMPLE_PIN); 

if (index >= NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR) {
            long sum = 0;
            for (int thisReading = 0; thisReading < NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR; thisReading++) {
                  sum += readings[thisReading];          
            }
            // calculate the average:
            average = sum / NUMBER_OF_SAMPLES_PER_HOUR;  
            // send it to the computer (as ASCII digits) 
            Serial.print("Average last day: ");  
            Serial.println(average, DEC);  
            index = 0;
      }

delay(SAMPLE_DELAY / TIMES_AS_FAST);                   
}