Average two PWM signals

I am a total noob, so please forgive if this is a stupid question. How would I best go about using two PWM signals as input, calculate the average of the two and output the result as a PWM signal? If that proves simple enough, I would also like to be able to add a percentage of the averaged signal to the output. For example, if one signal provided a duty cycle of 40%, and the other signal was 60%, the average of the two would be 50%. To this result would be added, say, ten percent, resulting in an output with a duty cycle of 55%.

It isn't a stupid question. It's a very good question to make advanced users think very hard :P

The Arduino has internal timers, and can measure frequencies and pulse widths. http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/pulseIn But two of those signals is harder.

What is the frequency and the width of the pulse ? If that frequency is too high, perhaps you can use an RC filter to make the pwm signals analog and let the Arduino read the analog signal. Would that be an option ? or is that too inaccurate ?

Is this an R/C channel mixer problem?

Thumbs up for the second option.

With a carefull filter design add an rc filter and capture the voltage with the ADC.

So now you have:

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  // read the input on analog pin 0:
  int pwm1 = analogRead(A0);  //Read PWM signal 1
  int pwm2 = analogRead(A1);  //Read PWM signal 2

//Create a Variable to average both signals
  int pwmout = ((pwm1+pwm2)/2)

analogWrite(6, (pwmout/4));
  //Write the pwmout value 
  Serial.println(pwmout/4);
  // print out the value you read (0 to 255)
}

AWOL: Is this an R/C channel mixer problem?