Averaging analog inputs without delay() help needed

Hello,
I am fairly new to the scene and have ran into a roadblock that I can’t seem to get around.
My ultimate goal is to have a reading from a photodiode read and turn on or off an LED based on the reading.
I also have LED that is activated based on battery status, once it hits 2.9V, the LED will fade in and out, once it hits 2.7V, the LED will stay on solid.
The code worked well before I thought of making the LED fade and since I use delay for the averaging, the output becomes very choppy.
I have looked at blinkwithoutdelay, and the article on avoiding delay, and attempted to make millis() work in my code, but I can’t seem to get the averaging to work with it.
Most of the body of the code I learned from google searching or from learning page, but the section that does the averaging and the section that uses cosign to fade the LED is mostly just copy and pasted into the sketch and I only adapted it to work for me. I don’t really understand those very much.
Here is the code that has delay and everything works except the LED fading:

const int Vent = 13;                                   //Vent LED location
const int LowBat = 11;                                 //Low Battery LED Location
const int Read = A2;                                   //For sensor averaging
int value, value2;                                     //For LowBatFade
int period = 2000;                                     //For LowBatFade
int displace = 500;                                    //For LowBatFade
long time = 0;                                         //For LowBatFade

void setup() {
  pinMode(Vent, OUTPUT);                               //Set vent LED pin as OUTPUT
  pinMode(LowBat, OUTPUT);                             //Set low battery LED pin as OUTPUT
  Serial.begin(57600);                                 //Set Serial baud rate
}

void loop() {
  int photodiode = analogRead(A2);                     //Photodiode input location