Averaging or smoothing

Hi all,
I am very new at the arduino world but enjoying it very much.

I am looking at the best way to program this probably simple project to start.

I want to calculate the time between two presses of a button. - this I have done.

I want to the take the timings and work out the average over a period of time.. Say 1 minute for example.. Could be 2 minutes or 5mins.

Then use that average in my next part of the program.

Hope that makes sense.

Many thanks in advance.

I simply create an array to store items I want to average.

Averaging or smoothing
Today at 15:20:07
Hi all,
I am very new at the arduino world but enjoying it very much.

I am looking at the best way to program this probably simple project to start.

I want to calculate the time between two presses of a button. - this I have done.

I want to the take the timings and work out the average over a period of time… Say 1 minute for example… Could be 2 minutes or 5mins.

So you either need to save each value, maybe in an array, EEPROM or SD card and do the calculation at the end of the period, or average it as you go along when a new value becomes available. Use millis() to time the overall period as well as the times between button presses.

Are you timing between when the button becomes pressed or are you detecting when it is pressed ?

Count the number of presses in a minute or whatever. At the end of 1 minute the average time between presses in seconds is 60/count.

A rolling average is also possible, if you need to have it update every 10 seconds instead of waiting a whole minute each time. Then you need an array to store the count in each 10-second block and add up the last 6 array entries to get the total count in the last 60 seconds.

I am grabbing the timing between presses, not the duration of the press.

I have been using the smoothing option.