Avergaing Two Potentiometers Help

Hello, I am an engineering student at westhill high school and we are working towards averaging the outputs of 4 temperature probes so our first step was to learn how to average two potentiometers and this is causing us several problems. We are trying to use a smoothing code to do this but are relatively new to Arduino. Any help is greatly appreciated!
This is my code:

onst int numReadings = 10;

int readings[numReadings];      // the readings from the analog input
int index = 0;                  // the index of the current reading
int total = 0;                  // the running total
int averageA = 0;                // the average

int inputPin = A0;

void setup()
{
  // initialize serial communication with computer:
  Serial.begin(9600);                   
  // initialize all the readings to 0: 
  for (int thisReading = 0; thisReading < numReadings; thisReading++)
    readings[thisReading] = 0;          
}

void loop() {
  // subtract the last reading:
  total= total - readings[index];         
  // read from the sensor:  
  readings[index] = analogRead(inputPin); 
  // add the reading to the total:
  total= total + readings[index];       
  // advance to the next position in the array:  
  index = index + 1;                    

// if we're at the end of the array...
  if (index >= numReadings)              
    // ...wrap around to the beginning: 
    index = 0;                           

// calculate the average:
  averageA = total / numReadings;         
  // send it to the computer as ASCII digits
  Serial.println(averageA);   
  delay(1);        // delay in between reads for stability            
value1: averageA 

;const int numReadings = 10;

int readings[numReadings];      // the readings from the analog input
int index = 0;                  // the index of the current reading
int total = 0;                  // the running total
int averageB = 0;                // the average

int inputPin = A1;

void setup()