Avoiding the void loop()

Hi all. I am new to programming, but I find myself learning at a relatively quick pace. My question is, though, how to avoid the void loop(). I have created a simple LED chase effect using 8 LED's and 1 "status" led which is supposed to blink primarily for cosmetic purposes. However, I am using the delay() function to create the chase, which means that my blink function only repeats after each loop (else I have to program the blink as a "digitalWrite" function in every line and alternate high/low to create the blink. My current code for this simple program is here

int led1 = 13;
int led2 = 12;
int led3 = 11;
int led4 = 9;
int led5 = 8;
int led6 = 7;
int led7 = 6;
int led8 = 5;
int Status = 2;
long interval = 100;
int ledState = LOW;
long previousMillis = 0;

void setup () {
  pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led5, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led6, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led7, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led8, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(Status, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop () {

digitalWrite(led1, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(Status, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step1");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(Status, LOW);
  Serial.println("Step2");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led3, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step3");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led4, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step4");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led5, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step5");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led6, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step6");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led7, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step7");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led8, HIGH);
  Serial.println("Step8");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led1, LOW);
  Serial.println("Reset Clear");
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led2, LOW);
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led3, LOW);
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led4, LOW);
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led5, LOW);
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led6, LOW);
  delay(50);
  digitalWrite(led7, LOW);
  delay(50);