avr-g++: error: CreateProcess: No such file or directory with 1.6.3

I have been using my Arduino for a few years with no problems. I put 1.6.3 on this weekend and now get avr-g++: error: CreateProcess: No such file or directory.

I've looked thought many posts giving ways to get past this error. Nothing has worked.

Also, I have rebooted, removed 1.6.3 and reinstalled, and gone back to 1.6.1. I continue to get the same error.

Any ideas?

Hello,

I just faced this problem 5 minutes ago (Pc under Win 7.... usual month "PC cleaning" activity this morning....and problem this evening...as usual...:{)

I solved it as simply as : * uninstall the arduino software * wiped out the "arduino" folder * reinstall Arduino software (1.6.3 for me)

It worked for me....so...maybe for you or somebody else façing this reccuring problem

Turn on verbose compile logging (in Preferences). Perhaps that will get you a message that says what program it was trying to run when the CreateProcess failed.

What Arduino board are you building for?

Thanks I will try!

I'm also experiencing this. Trying to run " Blink" from examples. Running VISTA, UNO R3, MKII, com 4 (listing the hardware), verbose for compile from preferences, and re downloaded 3 times. Still same error message.

apologies for the necromancy, but i have read practically every thread on the Search results page on this subject (and even a few outside the Arduino.cc site) and i believe i have covered all the "usual tricks".

this all started with trying to upload to a breadboard ATmega328 via CH340G USB-to-TTL converter which is still unresolved on another topic.

this is NOT cross-posting, because it is a NEW issue.

in searching for solutions to the previous topic, i came across a comment that "issues with Serial communications improved a lot with Arduino IDE v.1.5.X and up."