AVR Studio and Atmel-ICE

Some time ago I purchased an Atmel-ICE Basic for $50 (a very good price, I think). I'm a retired programmer and I'm very familiar with Visual Studio (C, C++ and C#), so I felt comfortable moving off the Arduino IDE to AVR Studio to gain the debugging capability. The Atmel-ICE has been sitting on the shelf for several months.

Recently I tried to use Atmel-ICE on an some cheap Arduino Nano Clones (using the debug-wire interface) with no success. Come to find out, the debug line on the Nano clones is all crapped up with a capacitor and a 1K pull-up on the reset line, which is an absolute no-no for the reset signal when using Atmel-ICE. I found a post where I could pull off the cap and 1K pull-up (should be a weaker 10K pull-up) and that would let the Nano clone work with Atmel-ICE. The only problem with that is that the parts to remove are very small surface mount parts that would be hard (for me) to remove cleanly. I just wanted something that would work out-of-the-box.

I rummaged around the parts bins I have and I found a couple of Leonardo boards. I checked the schematic on these, and I found that because the Leonardo 32U4 CPU automatically adds USB support internally, there was no cap on the reset line and that the pull-up is 10K, like it should be, and it had a beautiful ICSP connector that would fit the Atmel-ICE cable.

All went smoothly until I tried to do a debug. Got a message that Debug is not supported from the ICSP connector (or on the 32U4 chip). Only JTAG is supported for debugging. On one hand, I did not expect that the 32U4 would have the more sophisticated JTAG but I'm kind of excited that it does support it--seems better that the debug-wire kludge.