avrdude is my sworn ENEMY!

So I'm a hobbyist and have played with Arduino for 4-5 years now. I've worked with different boards and programmed with different Windows based laptops. Despite what I'm using I always get some version of avrdude errors in the process.

I'll be working along, editing, uploading and testing over and over without issues and all of sudden I'll start getting avrdude errors. So in response I'll change usb and com ports and keep trying and eventually I'm able to push the code to the board. I never know what, if anything, I did to get it working. This might work for a few more uploads and then at some point avrdude comes back. This becomes frustrating and eats up tons of time.

Today's avrdude dejour is

avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"

So my question is. What can I do to keep avrdude at bay? Or is this just the nature of programming Arduino?

Frustrated hobbyist.

Rich

I must say, I never got weird errors... Al error are just because of me (selecting wrong board, wrong com port, making weird code, not installing drivers) or Windows (assigning a different COM number then expected, updating drivers I don't want to update) or the driver (being buggy, not being supported anymore, being FTDI).

Which board do you program if you select is as USB under Windows?

I have not gotten any errors from AVRDude that were not accurately reporting wiring or configuration problems.

Windows changes COM port numbers when you plug the device into different ports.

Windows will also sometimes get into a bad state, particularly when the port is abused (typically by shorting +5v to ground) resulting in either the port not working for anything, or the specific device not detecting in that specific usb port. These issues are typically cleared by reboot.