avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 10 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10

Hi!

Im trying to flash my arduino uno (atmega328p) and i an receiving the error below.

these are what i have done so far.

1. The right com port and board is selected. com 1, 9600
  2. reinstalled everything
  3. tested on different computer
  4. tried different programs to upload.

rx and tx leds are flashing when i try to upload so there is some contact.

been at this for 2 days so i have googled plenty but i fear im not experienced enough to know what to look for. please help.

error:

Sketch uses 444 bytes (1%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.
Global variables use 9 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2039 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
C:\Users\CNC\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\tools\avrdude\6.3.0-arduino2/bin/avrdude -CC:\Users\CNC\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\tools\avrdude\6.3.0-arduino2/etc/avrdude.conf -v -patmega328p -carduino -PCOM1 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:C:\Users\CNC\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_493458/sketch_apr28c.ino.hex:i

avrdude: Version 6.3, compiled on Jun 22 2016 at 16:05:21
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is "C:\Users\CNC\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\tools\avrdude\6.3.0-arduino2/etc/avrdude.conf"

Using Port : COM1
Using Programmer : arduino
Overriding Baud Rate : 115200
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 4 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 5 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 6 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 7 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 8 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x10