avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Hey guys I just got into arduino uno and I was loving it. I got an UNO off of ebay (it might not be official I'm not really sure) and it was working fine. I uploaded the standard blink sketch and toyed around with it and my friend helped me make a cool fading sketch. All was fine- until last night when I tried using an external battery (actually ultra capacitors, but same idea). At first it worked and then I unplugged it and it the problem arose. The sketch was no longer on the arduino. I tried to re-upload the blink sketch to the arduino and got this error " avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30 ". I tried again today and now I'm getting " avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00 ". I know its not the ports, its worked before on the same exact ports. I'm afraid that maybe when I disconnected the power some wire might have contacted something on the board. I'm brand new to this so any help at all would be appreciated. Do i need to replace the Atmega or is it worse? Also, on a side note, when I got the board I noticed that the power on LED is sort of a red orange and L13 is green... Isn't that backwards? Could i easily switch the two? Thank you so much,

An arduino newbie

Start with some basic trouble shooting. With nothing connected and the board powered via USB cable, do you see +5, 3.3V on the power header?

If yes, try the Loopback test, see if the USB interface is working. http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,73748.0.html

Once you confirm the USB interface is working, can proceed to trying to upload a sketch again.

LEDs can be removed & swapped if you have surface mount rework capability. They are only indicators and color is not critical to anything, merely On or Off.

Thanks, but as I said, I'm new to arduino so I don't have a USB to serial adapter :( any other suggestions?