Baby cradle rocker

Hi, I want to create a rocker for my coming baby's cradle.
I've been spent the whole day googling but I cannot find basic details about the setup.
It's worth knowing that I have never done anything with Arduino before, so this would be my first project.
Ideally, I'd like this to have microphone activation (when the baby cries) but for now, I'll already be happy having just a motor that rocks the cradle.

I understand that I need:

• Arduino Uno
  • Servomotor
  • Rope to connect cradle to servomotor
  • Microphone (later)

I'm looking on AliExpress for a servomotor but I genuinely have no idea which one to buy.
Which one would you recommend?

Thanks in advance, your help is highly appreciated!

Why use an Arduino? Use a geard motor and a crank shaft.

Honestly, this does not sound to me like a safe idea. It's not that there are so many things that can go wrong, but that the cost of failure is so high. :frowning:

aarg:
Honestly, this does not sound to me like a safe idea. It's not that there are so many things that can go wrong, but that the cost of failure is so high. :frowning:

do you mind elaborating on that?

callmeal:
do you mind elaborating on that?

Sure. Dead baby.

Or crushed fingers at least. Baby progress comes without warnings. Enjoy the feeling of doint the rocking manually.
On baby was put in a swing. The swing was made swing until the "passenger" turned into a sack of potatoes.
The next baby was put in the baby bed, laying on the stomach, and my firm hand was doing the rocking, laying on the floor, impossible to "buy", to abbondend the go asleep program.
Using a "machine'".... You will miss fine memories.

There are commercial versions of this.

Primarily, and in regard to the safety aspects, the cradle has to be designed for rocking; the mechanical aspects are far more significant than for whatever an Arduino might be needed, which is debatable.