Baby steps

Going through the beginner projects and observed something interesting. While doing the "Button" example if you leave the wire in input #2 but do not put the other end into the breadboard, the LED lights up as you wave your hand over the data wire.

Yes, I am a noob but this would be a simple way to demonstrate whatever is happening. I would like to know myself.

Thanks,

Paul

Interesting can you explain in more detail also describe your set up you might be haveing interferience

This is what I have done: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button

If you remove the input wire that sends the signal to #2 Input from the breadboard I get this effect.

Paul

Thank you and happy Holidays.

Yes, I am a noob but this would be a simple way to demonstrate whatever is happening. I would like to know myself.

Search forum for 'floating input pin' and all will be explained.

Lefty

PaulH,

here are two of those search results:

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1283944296

Thank you for the links.

Not knowing what a "floating point" is I had no idea what to search for.

Off to learn a little more.

Thanks again,

Paul

Not knowing what a “floating point” is I had no idea what to search for.

Please read carefully. Not floating point, that is a term for handling numbers with fractions (decimal points). Floating input pins is a hardware term talking about a specific electrical characteristics of a input pin.

Lefty

well floating pins mean that they are left not connected ! so they pick up electrical disturbances form here and there thats why they are called floating pins i.e not stable . to avois floating pins you should ground them

If you like that effect, you might also like this — the Theremin. It's doesn't operate on exactly the same principles, but the important characteristics are somewhat related.

Interesting can you explain in more detail also describe your set up you might be haveing interferience