Barrel Jack Vs Vin for battery power??

First of all I am very new to all of this so my knowledge is extremely limited.

I want to power my Arduino Uno and a 6v motor with as little number and smallest batterie or batteries I can. I tried using a energizer 12 a23 battery and it has plenty of power to run my motor. I have programmed the motor to run through a digital output pin when certain conditions are met by using a transistor and plugging it into the computer. It runs fine when I do that. However, when I pull the usb out and try running it off of the battery through the Vin the motor is much much weaker. Would it work better to hook the battery up through the barrel jack? I am not sure what else I can do to get enough power to the motor. I am very confined by space (no wider than a aaa battery and not enough room to run a whole bunch on top of each other). The size of this little 12v battery is perfect and it is strong enough to run the motor it seems only when the motor is hooked up directly to it. Anyone know what might be causing this and what I could do to fix this.

Thanks

I don't think that would help When it's only powering your motor it works perfectly, am I right? But now it has to power you motor AND your arduino, which can also take up quite a bit of power...

You need to provide separate power for the motor without any transistor (which is effectively reducing the voltage and hence current available). I don't mean do away with a transistor between your Arduino and the motor, no no!

You could use a MOSFET which has a very low 'on' resistance.

You could use a RELAY (ideally totally isolated from the UNO via an opto-isolator) which would have no voltage drop across it at all.

What are you using (or going to use when you have finished developing and remove that USB plug) to actually power the Arduino?

Motors require quite a bit of current and will flatten a battery quite quickly. Without knowing more details we are all a bit in the dark.