Bartending by weight

Basically I am a COMPLETE novice when it comes to using items like this, but I want to learn (obviously)

The project I want to build is relatively simple in theory, but I just don't know where to find the knowledge to figure it out:

I want to take an "auto metering" bartender . The thing is I want to add the separate ingredients measured by weight automatically.

So (in theory) you have a mechine set up to make a certain drink. Say we are making Run and Coke: I want a 10% ratio of coke to rum. So 200 grams of coke would need 20 grams of rum, 400 grams would need 40g and so on. Having the weight of the glass pre-programmed in as the tare.

So I fill a glass with 341 grams of coke (random amount) I set the glass on a scale, the 10% (34.1g) is calculated and added to what the total weight should be (375.1g). The system then meters out rum until the proper weight is reached.

The Rum would be gravity fed (no need for pumps or anything just yet.

Sooooooo,
1)how do I get a digital scale to talk to the Arduino?
2)how do I program the Arduino to control the valve to add the good stuff.
3) is an Arduino the correct platform for this?

I'd rather a "here is the resources to learn how to figure it out" rather than just "here is how to do it." It's the give a man a fish vs teach a man to fish, I want to learn.

I really appreciate any help y'all can give me! If I get this thing working, I'll be making tons of drinks if anyone wants to help me drink them!! Hahha

Thanks again!

This sounds like a really interesting project!

1. A quick Google seems to suggest that a HX711 board will be one of the more simple ways to interface an Arduino with the load cells found in just about any old set of scales. There are even a few instructables to get you started.