Basic Arduino Circuit

Hey Everyone,

So I am extremely new to Arduino but I have a decent knowledge with programing and circuitry theory. I do not have a lot of experience building circuits since I’m a mechanical engineer but the project I’m working on will require basic circuits to be built in conjunction with the board.

My issue is relatively simple. Basically I want to have 5 wires attached to the Arduino board with 5 volts going though each of them. If one of these wires were to be cut, I would like for the Arduino board to notify me by flashing an LED. I need this to happen for every time a wire is disconnected from the 5 volts it is receiving from the external power source.

My question to you is which Arduino board would be best for this project? Also, which ports do you connect each individual wire to on the Arduino board so that it can scan them all and check if current is still be carried.

Attached is a very … very basic diagram of what i am explaining.

Thanks for your help!
Ant

Any of the Arduino I/O pins will do. You can use digitalRead(ppp) to read any of them - ppp is the pin number.

It may be easier if you set the pin as inputs using the internal pull-up resistors (pinMode(ppp, INPUT_PULLUP) and connect the other ends to ground rather than to 5v.

If you must connect the other ends to 5v you will need to use external pull-down resistors at the Arduino end to make sure that the voltage at the pins goes low when the wire is cut. In this case you would just use pinMode(ppp, INPUT). Without the pull-down resistors the voltage on the pins will float and won't give reliable readings.

...R

Great that helps a lot thank you. But yes I was curious about connecting the ends to a ground. Id rather connect the wires to a ground which will be possible. Does this mean the Arduino is passing a current though each wire? if so how will it be notified if a wire is cut then?

Also which board would be best for this and lets say if i wanted to use 160 connections?