Basic issue using Wire library with Arduino

Hello,

I’m new to the ATmega168, Arduino, and the Wire library. I’m trying to start as simply as I can, but I have to admit, I’m already having problems.

My environment is an Arduino NG rev. C (ATmega168) with the Arduino IDE v.0007 running on a Mac. (I’ve also run this on a PC.) I have not modified any Wire files provided in the v0007 IDE.

My goal is to use TWI/I2C to interface to a thermometer (DS1621).

I’m starting with a very basic sketch:

#include <Wire.h>

int ct = 0;

void setup() {
//Wire.begin(); // join i2c bus as Master
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(“Init complete”);
}

void loop() {
Serial.print(ct);
Serial.println(" in loop()");
delay(1000);
ct++;
}

This sketch returns the following output:

Init complete
0 in loop()
1 in loop()
2 in loop()
3 in loop()
4 in loop()
5 in loop()

and so on.

If I uncomment the line that initializes Wire, I get no output. I never see “Init complete” nor any output from loop().

void setup() {
Wire.begin(); // join i2c bus as Master
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(“Init complete”);
}

(No output from running this.)

Can anyone tell me what I am missing? I’ve run this with nothing attached to the Arduino board. I’ve run it with the entire DS1621 circuit attached to the board. It doesn’t change the behavior.

Given that www.arduino.cc links directly to the Wire library, I have a hard time believing that the library doesn’t work with a rev C board. But at this point, I can’t think of anything else to test.

Thanks for any suggestions any of you can give me!

– Dan

Just a follow-up....

I started altering Wire.cpp and twi.c to try to find where I was hanging in Wire.begin(). That forced several recompiles and when I backed out my changes, Wire.begin() no longer hung. I'm guessing the Wire.o and twi.o object files shipped in the 0007 distribution are not ok for an Arduino NG (ATmega168).