Basic MOSFET Questions

I've been reading lots here and elsewhere and I'm hoping someone can confirm that all of the information I've taken in is correct. I've never worked with FETs before and am an electronics amateur. Any help/guidance/feedback welcome!

Summary

I need my Atmega328P (5V) to turn a strip of LED lights (5V ~2.2A) on/off and a logic-level MOSFET seems to be what I need. I plan to make the Arduino setup() activate the gate of the MOSFET to turn the LEDs on. I then plan to deactivate/activate the gate on Atmega328P sleep/wake (respectively) controlled by a button and interrupt. The desired functionality is simple: When the Arduino is awake and running the strip will be on and when the Arduino is sleeping the strip will be off. The application is battery powered so efficiency is important.

Questions

1. The LEDs typically draw around 600mA - 1A but can have a sustained maximum draw of ~2.2A. Is this an appropriate MOSFET to use with no additional heat sinking? http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/SI4778DY-T1-GE3/SI4778DY-T1-GE3CT-ND/2441976

2. Do I need a current-limiting resistor between the Atmega328P output pin and the gate? I've read conflicting information here and believe the Atmega328P may have clamping diodes that eliminate the need for this. The fewer parts the better!

3. Is my approach to use a N-Channel MOSFET and pull-down resistor the best? Cost isn't a big issue but simplicity, component size/count, and reliability are important. Is there a better way to go to use fewer parts? Can I somehow leverage the Atmega328P's pull-up resistors instead?

4. I've read information about possibly needing a resistor between gate and drain (I think?) to make sure the strip is always turned off when the Atmega328P is off/asleep. It's critical that the strip ALWAYS be powered off when the micro is off/asleep but I can't find the older posts where I read this. Can someone explain what I read or if this applies to my design?