Basic resistor-transistor help

Hi everyone!

First of all: Since im getting into pure electronics lately instead of embedded systems, and I do not want to spam this forum with just electronics questions:
Are there nice and clean fora for electronics only?

Then, the actual question:
I want to build this contactless voltage sensor, as an excercise. Now, I want to power it by a 3.3V button cell instead of a bulky 9V battery.

My question now is: Can I divide the values of all the resistors by ±3, since the voltage is about 3x smaller? Im not sure if this is right since Im not that good with transistors :confused:

Thanks in advance!

[Edit: I just noticed the ‘General Electronics’ forum, so if one of the mod’s could post it there, that would be awesome!]

That line of thinking is roughly correct. However, you are neglecting the transistor base-emitter junctions, which each require 0.6 to 0.7 V to be functional. Three in series adds to about 2 V, so the circuit may not work at all on a 3V battery. Also, the red LED requires about 2 V, so the series resistor would need to be much lower for the same current.

When you want to use a low voltage supply more often, you should look into using FETs instead of bipolar transistors.

Thanks for the replies everyone!

I tried it on a breadboard with a 3v button cell, and it works!
Today, I tried to solder it on a very small piece of perfboard, but now it doesn't work anymore :frowning: the led just lights up all the time, with a little difference when I touch it with my hands...

And about the transistors being in series: aren't they parallel? The drop would then be about 0.35V (1/drop = 1/0.7 +1/0.7 +1/2.7).

And since I have BJT's lying around, Im using those, however, Ill look into FETs if I use low voltage supplies more often. Thanks for the tips!

They are not in parallel.

Also, adding components in parallel does not change the voltage drop. Look up "Kirchoff's Laws".