Basic Scrolling Text Code

Hello, I am new to Arduino and hope that I am posting in the right section. I have constructed an 8 x 8 LED Matrix controlled by two 74HC595 shift registers and a ULN2803 driving the cathodes. I used this code from InsideGadgets ;

http://www.insidegadgets.com/2010/11/07/fun-with-8x8-led-matrix/

The code for scrolling text is attached as Doc 1
I got it to work ok but it only shows you how to code for three characters (two being the same character) and was wondering if some kind person here could show me how to code it for more characters. I understand how to make additional arrays but am not sure on what and where I have to alter the code other than how the original author does with the three characters. Also why at “int LEDs[8][17]” is there a 17 when there are only 16 columns of data?

Hoping that someone can help me,

thank you BluesBoy. :slight_smile:

Doc 1.doc (26 KB)

No sensible person would download a .doc file. Can you copy and paste it between Code markers or save it as .txt instead.

I apologise for my indiscretion Riva. I have reattached the code as a txt file as requested. How do I paste the code between code markers? Thank you for your patience,

BluesBoy

Txt1.txt (2.75 KB)

Go into your Arduino IDE and select and copy the code, then in the online editor select the little "#" key and and where the cursor is between the code /code paste your program code.

it will look like this when done -

/*
 LED Matrix - Display scrolling text
 Version: 1.0
 Author: electricteardown (http://insidegadgets.wordpress.com)
 Created: 6/11/2010
 Last Modified: 6/11/2010

*/

//Pin connected to ST_CP of 74HC595
int latchPin = 8;
//Pin connected to SH_CP of 74HC595
int clockPin = 12;
//Pin connected to DS of 74HC595
int dataPin = 11;

int counter = 0;
int movement = 0;

int LEDs[8][17] = {   
  {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
  {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0}      
};

int letterH[8][8] = {