Batteries

What is the best kind of batteries to get? I'm just getting into robotics and plan on doing it for a long time (going to university for mechatronics) and was hoping to get some nice batteries to use. So... What size/type would be best? I heard Lithium ion is good, anything else?

I plan on mostly using it for smallish projects, most of them with Arduino most likely. What voltage do I need? 6? 9? 12?

Price is no problem as I plan on using them for a lonnnnng time. (but hopefully they're still reasonable, Im still on a student budget haha)

With robotics the battery time, size, voltage output, current output and all of that will very based on you project's needs and your budget. The different battery types have different characteristics. So it all comes down to the projects power requirements. How much voltage is needed to run it? How much current does it draw? How long do the batteries need to last? What conditions will they have to endure? Are there weight restrictions forcing you to use smaller batteries?

The arduino doesn't need allot of power. Anything between 7V and 12V is all thats needed. But the motors you use in the project will be what dictate the kind of power you need. You may find you will need to have a couple different types and sizes on hand.

The type and size of a battery ultimately depend on what the end application will be; you have to size your battery based on what it will be running.

Since all we know right now is that you are going to run an Arduino, we can take that as a starting point.

First off, the Arduino for simple development can be powered off the USB port, which is 5 VDC @ 500 mA. The Arduino itself can be powered externally by between 5-12 VDC, and I would stick to a source that can supply at least 500 mA (but you can probably go lower, it just won't run as long before the battery dies).