Battery for Irrigation control system.

Hey guys, this is my first proper arduino project, well have only completed a hello world tutorial for the lcd screen, but I am not a tech novice.

I am looking at building an Irrigation control system using an arduino for my mum's allotment, but I am a bit confused when it comes to choosing a battery for the project an wondered if anyone here would like to share their 2 cents worth with me.

The hardware I am planning on using is 1x Arduino Mega 1x 4 ch 5v relay board 2x 12v 3w aquarium pump 1x 16x2 LCD screen 4x 12v 0.6w N/C solenoid valves 4x moisture sensors 1x water level sensor 1x temperature sensor

I would like as much life out of the battery between charges, and i know that the way i code the thing will have a big part to play in how much life i get, but would like to know what people think about the options i think i have.

The one I think would be the best for me Is 12v Deep Cycle Battery I've seen these used in things like UPS and home alarm systems, just dont know if it suitable for my project.

My next thought is 12v Li-Ion Battery Pack again, dont know if this is feasable but I was thinking of getting 2 of these and run them in parallel to get 9600mAh

Or does anybody have any other ideas.....

Im going to keep the program as slim as possible, checking the moisture of the soil of each of the 4 sensors once a day, maybe twice during the summer. One pump will fill a holding tank when the water level is low, and the other will be feeding the irrigation system, so neither will be run for more than 1-2mins each day. And the LCD screen will only be on when either a button is pressed to activate it, and then it will time out, or when the sensors are being checked.

Thanks in advance Iain

A deep cycle 12V lead acid battery with a solar panel to keep it topped up?

Remember an average of 100mA vs 500mA is 1 day vs 5 days of running....

Use the sleep() function to maybe save some juice.