Battery level indicator

Hey!

For a project I am working on I want to be able to display the current battery level on a display.

I am using the following circuit:

which comes from here https://github.com/rlogiacco/BatterySense

I use a 220ohm resistor instead of the 100.

Here's a photo of the circuit(without the mosfet)

As far as I understand the voltage gets divided so that the analog pin of the arduino can handle it and the mosfet gives me an option to turn the circuit off so that the battery doesn't get drained constantly.
So far so good.

I checked the voltages with a multimeter and the voltage division and the mosfet seem to work but I only get max readings at the "sense" pin.

I am an electronics noob and can't figure out what's the problem here...

Awrange:
...and the mosfet gives me an option to turn the circuit off so that the battery doesn't get drained constantly.

I'm afraid not.
The author made a vital thinking error.
When the mosfet is 'off', current will still flow through R1 and the pin protection diode of the MCU to VCC of the MCU.
That still drains the battery when battery voltage is > "VCC+0.5volt", and could be unhealthy for the input pin.
Leo..

That came to my mind as well and so I also tried to hook the battery up directly to the drain of the mosfet and added the voltage divider at the source. but that did not work either...

Maybe I hooked it up the wring way or i fried my analog pins with the other setup :confused:

What type of battery (and voltage) do you want to measure.
The 14.8volt (16.8volt charged) battery for the camera slider?
Leo..

Hi,

Wawa:
I'm afraid not.
The author made a vital thinking error.
When the mosfet is 'off', current will still flow through R1 and the pin protection diode of the MCU to VCC of the MCU.
That still drains the battery when battery voltage is > "VCC+0.5volt", and could be unhealthy for the input pin.
Leo..

OPs github image