Battery powered step counting mini game device

Hello!

As I am quite new to Arduino I have a few questions on my project idea.
I want to make the following:
A mini game device that

• counts steps all the time
  • runs of a single 2032 3V Cell
  • doesn't have a real turn off functionality
  • has a display with about 240x128px or 128x64px, draws the image 4-10 times per sec. and has about 5 grey scales per pixel(no backlight)
  • can run at least 2 or 3 months without needing a new battery
  • can communicate wireless to another device(as low power as possible)

I know that Arduinos need to much power for such projects,
so I wanted to ask you if you have any idea how to get something like that done.

If my explanation wasn't good enought google Nintendo's PokéWalker as it is quite
similar and inspired my project.

What kind of microcontroller would I need for that? I guess the biggest problem is the display as it should have about 4-10 refreshs per second.

Hope you know something that fits my idea!

Best regards

CR2032.
225mAh for 90 days.

Do the arithmetic.

"Steps" You mean like a pedometer? Attached to your belt or something?

What could it possibly display that changes 4-10 times per second? What are you looking at when it's on your belt? Why not update the display when something happens (like a step or new wireless data arrves.) Only switch the display on when it's held in a certain way - the step sensor will help determining if it's stationary in your hand being looked at.

Most graphic (pixel-based) displays require a backlight to be visible and it's the light which sucks all the power. Can you think of any LCD you've ever seen anywhere which has greyscale capability and no backlight? Your digital watch still uses 7-segment LCDs because it has to run for years on a tiny battery and visibility is a primary requirement for the watch. Can you do your project with a simpler watch LCD? Even e-ink displays don't have true greyscale.