Battery question for powering arduino

Hello, I am new to this site so I apologize if this is posted in the wrong forum.

I am doing a school project that involves an Arduino Uno working with a relay to control a linear actuator.

We have a 12 V 1600 mAh battery to power the actuator, but the electrical technician at our school said we need a separate power source for the arduino because the 12 V one would short the board. I don't know much about batteries, so I have been struggling to find something to power the device.

I saw a link on amazon titled 9V/5V battery adapter for arduino (link: https://www.amazon.com/9V-5V-battery-adapter-Arduino/dp/B06XHR1LDN) and was wondering if using this device with a 9V battery would work for powering the arduino? Does the 9V/5V imply from the 9 volt battery it will provide 5 volts? Is a 9V too much? Any suggestions on how to power this device are greatly appreciated as I am a mechanical engineer and therefore am very electrically challenged.

Thanks!

Let's see your proposed schematic for this project.

12V can be used to power an Arduino (UNO for example) but there will be limitations to the amount of current that can be safely taken form it.

You can get a buck converter (lots on eBay) that can lower the 12V down to a more reasonable level.
7V if you power the Arduino through the power jack OR 5V if you power the Arduino through the 5V header pin.

One example: