Battery Splitting Inquiry

Hi guys. I am totally new to the Arduino world, so please be gentle.

I have an Arduino Uno that I would like to power with a 6v NiMH battery. I will be using it to control six servos along with other sensors. I know that with that many servos, I should have a separate power supply for them. My question is this: Would it be wise to use a splitter (one end of splitter [6v/Ground] plugs into the Arduino, the other [6v only] plugs in to one of the voltage rails on breadboard) or is this not a good idea? I am trying to avoid using two separate batteries, if I can. Please advise. Thanks!

P.S.: I would draw up one of those fancy diagrams to make things clearer, if only I knew how. Please advise on that, too. :slight_smile:

I have an Arduino Uno that I would like to power with a 6v NiMH battery.

That is too much to connect to the 5V power line and not enough to connect to the Vin regulator input.

Would it be wise to use a splitter

I don't know what you mean by a splitter it is not a very precise term.

I would draw up one of those fancy diagrams to make things clearer, if only I knew how.

Pencil and paper. Photograph the paper, reduce to about 800 pixels wide, attach to post with the controls that open up when you click the Additional Options triangle.
Or / and read the how to use this forum sticky post.

That is too much to connect to the 5V power line and not enough to connect to the Vin regulator input.

I am a little confused by this statement. While the recommended voltage input of 7-12V came to my attention after my post, I am not quite sure I understand what you mean regarding the power being too much to connect to the power line.

I don't know what you mean by a splitter it is not a very precise term.

It's not rocket science either. However, I believe the the image below will clarify.

Pencil and paper. Photograph the paper...