Baud Rate Pros/Cons

I'm very new to arduino and learning about the serial port. It's been explained that a faster baud rate will refresh faster over the serial port. So obviously, a faster rate is better. Other than computation power, is there any other downsides to having a fast baud rate for your program? Will it effect the longevity of my arduino by having it on the max (2,000,000)?

Thanks. Sorry for the simple question.

Affect longevity? No. The uC core doesn't care what it's running.

Perceived performance? Yes. 115,200 (and perhaps 230,400, with a different serial program on the PC) will get data out fast and still leave processing time to do other stuff. 2,000,000 is not going to leave much processing time for anything else, so the program might seem less responsive depending on the sketch.

I use 1,000,000 quite regularly.

CrossRoads:
2,000,000 is not going to leave much processing time for anything else, so the program might seem less responsive depending on the sketch.

This, I don't understand. Why does doing something faster leave less time?

CrossRoads:
Affect longevity? No. The uC core doesn't care what it's running.

Perceived performance? Yes. 115,200 (and perhaps 230,400, with a different serial program on the PC) will get data out fast and still leave processing time to do other stuff. 2,000,000 is not going to leave much processing time for anything else, so the program might seem less responsive depending on the sketch.

DKWatson:
I use 1,000,000 quite regularly. This, I don't understand. Why does doing something faster leave less time?

If RX/TX happens to be on interrupt at 2000000 Bd, the MCU is repeatedly interrupted at 5 us interval. Is there anything useful that the MCU can do in this 5 us period?

GolamMostafa:
If RX/TX happens to be on interrupt at 2000000 Bd, the MCU is repeatedly interrupted at 5 us interval. Is there anything useful that the MCU can do in this 5 us period?

That would be 0.5us?