Beginner - basic button counter

Greetings! I am pretty new to Arduino and am taking on my first project. I took a mechatronics course in college so I do have limited experience with microcontrollers and programming, but I am still very inexperienced.

I have a much larger goal in mind (baseball scoreboard), but I thought I’d take it slow and start with some basics.

I am hoping to find some help in creating a basic counter connected to a 7 segment display. Start at zero, each time the button is pressed, add 1 to the display. For simplicity’s sake, it would probably be easiest to reset the counter to 0 after it shows 9 and the button is pressed again. (However, as I get further, I will be using cascading counters, I believe. For example, imagine I am counting outs in an inning, starting with 0. The button is pressed once, the display shows 1 out. Pressed again, the display shows 2 outs. Pressed one more time, it reset the outs to zero and advances the inning.)

I understand some of the basic flow-chart nature of programming, I just really struggle with the syntax.

I have been looking through Arduino tutorials and replicated the following push button program:

const int buttonPin = 2;     // the number of the pushbutton pin
const int ledPin =  13;      // the number of the LED pin

// variables will change:
int buttonState = 0;         // variable for reading the pushbutton status

void setup() {
 // initialize the LED pin as an output:
 pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
 // initialize the pushbutton pin as an input:
 pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
 // read the state of the pushbutton value:
 buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// check if the pushbutton is pressed.
 // if it is, the buttonState is HIGH:
 if (buttonState == HIGH) {
   // turn LED on:
   digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
 } else {
   // turn LED off:
   digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
 }
}

I was also able to replicate the following display/counter:

int num_array[10][7] = {  { 1,1,1,1,1,1,0 },    // 0