[Beginner] Divide the frequency by two with 74HC74 (D-type-flip-flop)

Hello everybody ! :slight_smile:

First of all let me apologize for my bad english (I'm french, and yes I know there is a french forum but I think that I will get more help here).

I'm a beginner in Arduino (I'm just starting, I have Arduino classes since 2 weeks) and I have 4 projects to prepare for Monday, but there is one that I can't do at all... For every projects we need to know the code in Arduino language and we have to know how to do it on the Arduino Uno.

The Project I can't manage to do is to divide the frequency delivered by the Arduino by two, using a 74HC74 which is a D-type-flip-flop (so I have to create a "frequency-by-2-divider").

The thing is that I have no idea where to start. For the 3 other projects that I managed to do I could train on www.tinkercard.com but there isn't the 74HC74 on this site, and I can't find many informations on Google (I've been searching in french and english).

So if someone has an idea about the lines of code I have to write and/or about the Uno circuit I have to do, that would be amazing !

Thanks a lot (and again sorry for my english), and have a good day ! :slight_smile:

Hi!
Are You forced to use 74HC74? You could use any digital counter/divider. The 74xx74 can do many different things. it is very fast and also sencitive for disturbance so it was baned in military constructions.
I designed a digital clock using plenty of 7474 more than 40 years ago but sorry, I don't remember how to use the set/reset and j,k to make a divider. Set/reset was forced HIGH I think. J and K are used in some way. It must be possible to find in application handbooks.'
Regards,
Railroader

Try this search term: divide by two circuit

So if someone has an idea about the lines of code I have to write

There is no code to write, it is hardware.
The 7474 has two D-type flip flops in it both can act as a divide by two circuit.