Beginner Example 4 problem

Hi, I'm a newbie Arduino user.

I am going step by step through the Getting started with Arduino book, and am a little confused about Example 4 (in particular the set-up of Figure 5-4.)

I am able to get the circuit working and the program working, but I am not sure of why a resistor is placed into the circuit. When I have the resistor located as shown in the Figure, the LED is on and working appropriately, but so dull I can hardly see it. As a test I changed the resistor to a wire, and the LED worked perfectly.

Any ideas? The resistor is a 10K as the book suggests.

Cheers.

As a test I changed the resistor to a wire, and the LED worked perfectly

Bad, very bad!

10k sounds way too high (I don't have the book), try a 1k instead.

Thanks, I will try that. The book say to buy a 10k Ohm resistor though.

Thing that's confusing me is that the book explains about resistance generally which I get, but doesn't explain why a resistor is used in the circuits that you have ot copy to build, so in the true fashion of an Industrial Design Student with no electrical knowledge, I just threw some other stuff at it to see what happens.

Luckily I guess the wire worked, but I might have got more out of it if it ruined my LED or something!!!

Thanks again.

The resistor is there to limit the current through the LED.
Google "LED current limiting". (Hah! Front page of Google today has a tribute to Oersted!)

Luckily I guess the wire worked, but I might have got more out of it if it ruined my LED or something

LEDs are cheap.
Arduinos, on the other hand...

Even 1K is a little high, but is safe.

Looks like there is plenty of info on google, I'll sift through it. Cheers.