beginner: external power supply

Hey guys.

Im completely new to electronics, so forgive any ignorance!

Im making a sculpture with 5 robotic arms, each with a pan and a tilt motor. The pan motor is this one - http://servocity.com/html/hs-785hb_3_5_rotations.html and the tilt motor is this one - http://servocity.com/html/hs-5665mh_servo.html

Was thinking the most easy and convenient way to power them would be one power supply for the tilts, and one for the pans. Then plug through a breadboard.

So would i be right to say, for example that i would still need to feed the 5 hs-785hb_3_5's 6v's in total?

But how do I decide how many amps I need? Do i need more info than is provided in the link? It tells you the 'Current Drain at no load operating', but i will be carrying some weight. So how do i decide how many amps to allow for??

thanks Rich

The other servo has some information on lock/stall current - several amps.

Without more detailed information on these devices, the only thing you can do is prepare for the worst-case, which is (total number of servos x stall current). In this case that is quite a lot.

If the weight they need to move is small and the speed is slow, you may get away with a lot less. There's really not enough data.

rich_brighton: Im making a sculpture with 5 robotic arms, each with a pan and a tilt motor. The pan motor is this one - http://servocity.com/html/hs-785hb_3_5_rotations.html

There is little information here for this servo about current ratings, other than:

Current Drain (4.8V): 8mA/idle and 230mA no load operating Current Drain (6.0V): 8.7mA/idle and 285mA no load operating

You could probably figure at least 1 amp under load for this servo, but you might want to purchase one (or all) and test it under load.

rich_brighton: and the tilt motor is this one - http://servocity.com/html/hs-5665mh_servo.html

This servo gives better information: