Beginner: How many inputs?

Hi!

I am about to buy my first Arudino to use in my DJ controller project. Until now I've used two gamepad PCB for the brain. The signals from the gamepads is converted to MIDI with a HID-to-MIDI application.

But I want to exchange the gamepad PCB to a Arduino and make it a MIDIuno, or a HIDuino :)

So my first beginner questions is:

1. Is it possible to have 8 analog inputs (for faders/knobs), and 38 digital inputs (for regular buttons) from 1 pcs of Arduino UNO?

2. Or do I need a UNO + some extra card?

I'm a beginner to Arduino and electronics, but I now a little bit :)

Thanks!

/ T

Or do I need a UNO + some extra card

Yes an extra card or to be more precise extra components. These are called port expanders. You can use the shift in technique:- http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftIn

Alternatively you can use other sorts of chips like in these two projects:- http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/MIDI_Footsteps.html

http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/Pendulum.html

1) No Arduino has 6 analog inputs and these are multiplexed , so there is only one ADC that is used by all analog pins. 38 inputs is also too much for an UNO (don't know the number of a MEGA)

2) Shields can solve a lot - google for centipede shield and you have 64 digital I/O lines.

Thanks for all your advice!

Ouch. Seems quite advanced to get all those inputs?

But I am able to get 6 analog from one UNO?

What does "so there is only one ADC that is used by all analog pins" mean?

I've read about Mega now... "54 I/O (incl 4 HW UARTs, 14 PWMs, I2C bus), 16 Analog inputs"

Shouldn't the Mega do the job?

What does "so there is only one ADC that is used by all analog pins" mean?

The chip can only read one analogue IP at a time because there is only a single ADC (A to D converter). You get 6 analogue IPs because there's a 6-way switch between the pins and the ADC. For most applications it makes no difference and it's all hidden by the Arduino environment.