Beginner - Independent Speakers

Hi guys, sorry if this is the wrong place!

What I am trying to do with some friends is a bit weird, but bare with me. It might be simple, but I am a total beginner both in programming and eletronics, and I could not solve this by reading the tutorials and guides around.

Right now what we need is to connect several speakers(or buzzers, do not matter), and the melody can be the same. The thing is, they must be independent of each other, triggered by buttons.

So we would have Button1 - Speaker 1, Button 2 - Speaker 2, etc. Why this? We need to do a little test of putting speakers in different points in a enclosed space, and be able to turn them on independently of each other, think that someone will be randomly pushing the buttons.

So here is the deal, I did made a system one button - one speaker, but could not connect two. When I connected two, the arduino went off - we are probably shorthing something, that's what me and my friend found out. But we really do not know where we are wrong since we checked with a friend who saysthat knows a little more about eletronics and apparently everything is okay.

So my situation is, it is possible to do this? I've read in some places saying that there is some problems connecting more thant 3 speakers. If you say that it is not possible, and the best solution is to get each speaker in one arduino it might be possible to us to obtain more with friends and the situation its solved. Not the best situation but well, part of life. (I foung the guy who put 5 speakers at the same time, but they work simultaneously...)

Any help would be appreciated =) What we have is Arduino Uno, and our speakers are 0.4W, 8 ohms if this makes any difference.

Buzzers will not play a melody. They buzz at a fixed note only.

Piezoelectric sounders will be the easiest thing to use, if they are loud enough for your purpose. They do not need an amplifier and can be driven by an Arduino output directly.